IWSG Day & Originality

Happy IWSG Day! Can you believe summer is almost over? Before you’ll know it, 2022 will be over soon too. Yet, through the ups and downs, we’ll continue to come together. Supporting each other. Thanks for creating this writing community goes to ninja extraordinaire Alex Cavanaugh.

The co-hosts for the August 3rd posting of the IWSG are: Tara Tyler, Lisa Buie Collard, Loni Townsend, and Lee Lowery!

Interested in joining us? Click on the badge above. Our Twitter hashtag and handle are #IWSG and @TheIWSG.

So, what’s going on with me this month?

First, I’m actually missing my pressure cooker. I know, I know. After what happened to me a couple of months ago I shouldn’t want to look at a pressure cooker again. But the damn thing made the meat so tender it fell apart in your mouth. Plus it cut down on cooking time too. Just throw stuff in the pot and you’re good. Sigh, how I miss it.

But on a high note, the kids are going back to school soon. And I’ve been counting down the three weeks until school starts. This week is soccer camp for my youngest. Next week is orientation at his new school as he’s a sixth grader now. The week after that are physicals and whatever shots needed to send to the school. And the Monday after that they’ll fulfill their glorious purpose. As students entering a new school year. 

Anyway, this month’s bloghop question asks “When you set out to write a story, do you try to be more original or do you try to give readers what they want?”

It’s hard to be original. Almost everything’s already been done before. The best you can do is to write your story your own way. In your own voice. Putting your own spin on it. Like JK Rowling once said, “In truth, I never consider the audience for whom I’m writing. I just write what I want to write.” To which I heartily agree. But once completed, then consider the audience. Especially when it comes to the genre of your story. Each genre has their own basic rules and elements you should follow and readers expect. 

What’s going on with you this month? When you set out to write a story, do you try to be more original or do you try to give readers what they want?

PS I can’t help mentioning it again. But they’re going back to school soon! Was so excited over how their summer vacation will be over that I rewrote the verse of Baha Men’s “Who Let the Dogs Out” to:

Who’s going back to school?

You, you, you, you, you.

4 comments

  1. School started for my kids today. A freshman and a 7th grader. And I agree, I start out with writing something that *I* want to write and then have to figure out/hope it finds the right audience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment