How to Write an Erasure (Computer) Poem

Happy National Poetry Month!

Click on the image to get your free National Poetry Month 2024 official poster from The Academy of American Poets!

If you’re a regular commentator or viewer of my blog then you’ll know that every new year I’d do a special post. A post listing my top ten blog posts of the previous year. And for the past couple of years these two posts have made the list. How to Write an Erasure Poem and How to Write an Erasure (Blackout) Poem.

I never knew when I wrote those posts that they’d become so popular. So due to its popularity and its National Poetry Month, I decided to blog about the rest of the types of erasure poetry. Starting today, once a week every Monday this month.

As a reminder, erasure poetry is a poetic form of found poetry. It’s also known as blackout poetry and redacted poetry. To create an erasure poem, you take an existing document and wipe/blot/black out parts of it. Leaving behind a newer and different text.

So far I’ve posted about the crossout which is better known as the blackout poem. And the retyped form of erasure poetry. Which leaves four types of erasure poetry left: the computer, the cutout, the cover up and the visual. 

I’m starting off with the computer. The easiest out of the four which I hope you’ll give it a try and share the poem you created. Computer erasure poetry is created using computer software like Photoshop. Where the lines from the existing text are then removed. Or new lines added.

For my computer erasure poem I used an online lifestyle article about a writing contest for kids. First, I did a print screen of the article. I tried to download it and there was an email option. But using a screenshot was the best and easiest way for me to work with. 

Second, I don’t have Photoshop on my Chromebook. So I tried using ‘tools’ in ‘Photos.’ That didn’t work out so I uploaded the screenshot to my favorite go-to Canva.com. Canva is a free graphic design tool which makes it perfect for my needs. 

Third, I chose my graphic design template and whited out/erased the texts I didn’t want. As well as inserted new texts. 

And voila! By using an online graphic design tool on my computer, a new poem is born. It’s currently without a title but I’ve mentioned before in old blog posts how I’m not good with titles.

Don’t forget to save the date for Poem In Your Pocket Day on Thursday, April 18th. I’ll be sharing my own poem in my pocket on my blog. Which means there’ll be two blog posts in the third week of April. See you next Monday for the next erasure poem!

What do you think of my poem? Want to try computer erasure poetry for yourself? Are you celebrating National Poetry Month? How do you plan to celebrate? Are you taking part in NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month)? Do you have a favorite poem? A favorite poet?

How to Write an Erasure (Computer) Poem. It’s easy to do. All you need is a computer software like Photoshop and a written document. Click to learn more and maybe share your own attempt. Happy National Poetry Month! #mondayblogs #poetrymonth #poetrycommunity

4 comments

Leave a comment