IWSG Day, Writing Update, Time, Plans & AI


Happy IWSG Day! It’s the third IWSG bloghop of the new year. Another opportunity to share our ups and downs. And give and receive encouragement on our sometimes thorny path of authorship. Thanks as always, for bringing us together goes to ninja extraordinaire Alex Cavanaugh.

The co-hosts for the March 6th posting of the IWSG are: Kristina Kelly, Miffie Seideman, Jean Davis, and Liza @ Middle Passages!

Interested in joining us? Click on the badge above. Our Twitter hashtag and handle are #IWSG and @TheIWSG.

So what’s going on with me this month?

I’ve shot my health and wellness plans to hell and back. Since I’ve returned from my cruise I’ve been gaining weight. And though I’ve been trying to increase my protein intake, my carb intake is still higher. So, I’ve planned to reinvigorate my workout routine. I’ll continue with my weight lift and strength training three days a week. But I’ll also include cardio and core workouts two days a week. Increasing it by five minutes, with fifteen to twenty minute workouts.

I’m a sedentary person and have a desk job. As I’m sitting down in front of a computer a lot…a lot, a lot, a lot, increasing the days I work out is a must. Especially if I actually want to realize my goal of losing 20lbs by my birthday in three months. Which also means, I need to stop night owling and get a decent amount of sleep. Take breaks from all that sitting. Continue taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Stretching before going to and after getting up from bed. And amp up my meal plans with even more high protein foods in my diet. Learn how to make quinoa and couscous taste good.

National Poetry Month is only 28 days away. It’s been awhile since I’ve done a poetry blog special for the month. And due to its popularity I plan to post once a week, about the remaining four types of erasure poems next month. Going to start planning and gathering my materials now. Will need newspapers, magazines, articles, markers/crayons/beans…

Tomorrow is my youngest’s 13th birthday which also makes me a mother of two teenagers. Thinking this makes me realize how time flies. It was just the other day where I’d made plans to go away for college and live on campus. Then after college I planned to move into an apartment with my longtime bestie in NY. Marry by the time I’d become 30 years old. And work in the book industry at a publishing house either as an agent or an author. Or as an editor or writer for a magazine. Maybe even as a librarian. Now here I am with two teens, the eldest hopefully heading off to college and the youngest to high school next year. Working at a non-profit. And still paving my author’s road.

Now here’s my writing update for February.:

WIPDay 1Day 2Day 3Total Words
February 3 – 0 wordsFebruary 4 – 92 wordsFebruary 5 – 134 words226 words
February 6 – 230 wordsFebruary 7 – 0 wordsFebruary 8 – 108 words338 words
February 9 – 0 wordsFebruary 10 – 0 wordsFebruary 11 – 106 words106 words
February 12 – 0 wordsFebruary 13 – 213 wordsFebruary 14 – 165 words378 words
February 15 – 0 wordsFebruary 16 – 122 wordsFebruary 17 – 0 words122 words
February 18 – 113 wordsFebruary 19 – 224 wordsFebruary 20 – 197 words534 words
February 21 – 0 wordsFebruary 22 – 121 wordsFebruary 23 – 0 words121 words
February 24 – 0 wordsFebruary 25 – 0 wordsFebruary 26 – 0 words0 words
February 27 – 62 wordsFebruary 28 – 0 wordsFebruary 29 – 413 words475 words

Although I missed a lot of writing days last month, I still managed to write 2,300 words! And with at least three WIPs nearing completion, I have to start thinking about many things. Like how many proofreads and edits should I do, before sending them out to beta readers? What should I ask my beta readers to look for and  especially pay attention too?

With WIPs from the random wheel completed, should I replace them with new WIPs? Or should I keep what remains as is but increase the allotted writing days for each? After the many rounds of edits, beta readings and proofreadings, should I self-publish or submit them to a publishing press?

With a word count less than 7k words, “The Anniversary Present” would have to be self-published. Or submitted to an anthology. But which press or anthology would be a right fit? And if accepted by a press, how should the cover be designed? Should I use a pseudonym for my erotic stories? And what should my pen name be?

See, so many things to think about and do.

March 6 question: Have you “played” with AI to write those nasty synopses, or do you refuse to go that route? How do you feel about AI’s impact on creative writing?

I’ve not played with AI. Seems like it might turn into a slippery slope where I’ll end up being over-reliant on it if I use it to write those nasty synopses. Even if it’s supposed to be a useful tool for writers to become better writers. I’m a bit concerned it’ll affect my writer’s voice in the long run.

What’s going on with you this month? How has your life changed from your original plans and/or goals? Will you be participating in #IWSGPit on March 27th? Have you “played” with AI and how do you feel about its impact on creative writing?

Happy Birthday Thing 2 (and to all the other March babies)! Happy Women’s History Month! Happy International Women’s Day! Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Happy Easter!

16 comments

  1. Some cardio will definitely help. Our bodies also get used to a routine and it needs to be shaken up now and then.

    Two teenagers – wow.

    Are you doing the A to Z Challenge since you’re posting every day next month?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. Things need to be shaken up.

      And I know. Thinking about it I still find it unbelievable. Just the other day I was still partying up every weekend at a campus party. And burning the midnight oil studying for midterms and finals. And to complete essays/projects/presentations. How did twenty odd years pass by so quickly?

      Have too much on my plate at the moment to take part and post every day. So I will post four times next month. One post a week.

      Like

    • Thanks Jackie. Just goes to show that sometimes plans usually don’t go as planned. Things happened much earlier than I intended. While others happened much later and I’m still working on now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you have a good weight loss plan in place. Best of luck with meeting your goal!
    That’s a lot of projects to having going at one time. And I thought my writing plate was full. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you find the publishing path for you! I’ve recently decided to release my scifi and fantasy poetry collection on my own. Goal of october! I love poetry month, but instead of writing more I may focus on getting my book formatted.

    I also have a desk job and need to step up my movement. I now have a walking treadmill and just need to get motivated to use it more! I’ve found using dictation to write emails really helps for me to do work and the walking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kelly. And good luck with your poetry collection! I self-published a poetry chapbook but found people on Fiverr to do the cover and the formatting for me.
      Love poetry month and the sequel posts on erasure poetry have been a long time coming. Looking forward to what I come up with next month.

      Have no space for a walking treadmill but found plenty of walking workout videos thanks to the Fiton app, Popsugar and other fitness influencers’ YouTube channels.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with your health goals. I have a sedentary job writing too. I stand most of the time when I work. And I ride an exercise while watching the news as well as other times or walk to get enough exercise in. And Happy Birthday to your 13-year-old.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Natalie. I’m trying to make it a habit of taking breaks often. And using that time to walk up a flight of stairs to boost circulation.

      Like

  5. I can feel your energy, Lidy! Wow! I have similar health goals, but I blew them during my trip which ends in two days. One of my mantras is “Something is better than nothing,” so kudos to your for 2,300 words! Mothering teenagers is a critical job. Those years will fly by. Happy creating and working out in March!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same, blew them during my cruise earlier this year. And now there’s a plan in the works to go on another cruise this summer with the whole family. So it’s imperative I get on my A-game with my health goals.

      Yes, it’s like how dripping water can hollow out stone through persistence. Steadily even with a few words at a time, brings me closer to completing my drafts.

      Those years did fly. I remember how tiny they used to be in my arms. Now they’re around my height.

      Like

    • Thanks Sonia. Speaking of, it’s been so long since I’ve participated in NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month), writing 30 poems based on prompts for 30 days.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment