IWSG Day, Cruise & January Report


Happy IWSG Day! It’s the second IWSG bloghop of the new year. Another opportunity to share our ups and downs. And give and receive encouragement, as we travel the sometimes thorny path of authorship. Thanks as always, for bringing us together goes to ninja extraordinaire Alex Cavanaugh.

The co-hosts for the February 7th posting of the IWSG are: Janet Alcorn, SE White, Victoria Marie Lees, and Cathrina Constantine!

Interested in joining us? Click on the badge above. Our Twitter hashtag and handle are #IWSG and @TheIWSG.

So what’s going on with me this month?

Well, it’s been more than a week since I’ve returned stateside from my first ever cruise. At first I worried that I’ll have seasickness. I worried I’ll drop my phone into the ocean. Or worse, I myself will fall overboard. And all this worriedness led me to a story idea of a MC experiencing their worst vacation ever. Which led them to being lost at sea. And rescued by a modern pirate or someone long presumed to be dead. Were they really rescued or have they jumped from the frying pan into the fryer?

You know how we authors are. It’s what we do, come up with story ideas from out of nowhere. It’s an occupational hazard. Although, it’s been a long while since I’ve had a story idea. Unfortunately, it sounds like a thriller and that’s not a genre I usually write in. But, I’ll file it away just in case.

Now, here are my writing results for January.

WIPDay 1Day 2Day 3Total Words
January 5 – 0 wordsJanuary 6 – 0 wordsJanuary 7 – 322 words322 words
January 8 – 0 wordsJanuary 9 – 223 wordsJanuary 10 – 172 words395 words
January 11 – 156 wordsJanuary 12 – 0 wordsJanuary 13- 162 words318 words
January 14 – 200 wordsJanuary 15 – 0 wordsJanuary 16 – 300 words500 words
January 17 – 0 wordsJanuary 18 – 0 wordsJanuary 19 – 0 words0 words
January 20 – 133 wordsJanuary 21 – 0 wordsJanuary 22 – 194 words327 words
January 23 – 0 wordsJanuary 24 – 0 wordsJanuary 25 – 0 words0 words
January 26 – 0 wordsJanuary 27 – 0 wordsJanuary 28 – 0 words0 words
January 29 – 40 wordsJanuary 30 – 248 wordsJanuary 31 – 229 words517 words

I typed 2,379 words last month! Although it was touch and go at the start and towards the end. And shopping for warm weather outfits during winter didn’t help either. Whether online and/or at a physical store, it was more of a time suck than using social media. Especially shopping for shorts. It was the worst. It’s like trying to find the last Turbo Man doll on Christmas Eve.

And as you can see, the last week of January suffered a bit too. Had no internet service on the ship. I didn’t want to be roaming either so my phone was on airplane mode. I did have the idea to write by hand but I had no pen to ‘borrow.’ Or paper to write on. I should’ve been able to write offline on my phone but not all my WIP documents were accessible offline. (Talking about you “The Anniversary Present”).

Also, without internet service, I couldn’t finish re-reading the final five books by Julie Garwood. Sigh, I knew I should’ve tackled that earlier in the month. Since I’m a fast reader, it usually takes me two to three days to finish a book, so I figured I’d have plenty of time.

But this time, I most definitely will keep my vow to finish re-reading Julia Garwood’s books. I make this vow to myself and to you, my fellow IWSGers.

Also, for most of the cruise I suffered from a coughing fit. At first I thought I was coming down with a cold/cough. But my husband pointed out that I cough the most in our room. And it lingers awhile after we leave the room. So the consensus he came up with was that I was allergic to something in the room.

For the life of me, we couldn’t figure out what it was. It was definitely not my perfume. But my coughing worsened while sleeping in that bed. It could’ve been the material the blanket, sheets or pillows were made of. Or what housekeeping used to wash them in. Sigh, of all things why couldn’t I stumble onto some unknown food allergy.

And although I enjoyed my vacation, it did ruin my health and wellness plans. Even walking up and down the ship and around when we went ashore, to burn off all those delicious foods I ate didn’t help. I went on the cruise with a five pound weight loss and came back home with a three pound weight gain. I’m back on my exercise routine but still…

Anyways, that is what’s been going on with me. And for a bonus, this is for all my northern hemisphere peeps. Here’s a few pictures and feel good vibes clips to hold you over until the brighter, warmer days come.

February 7 question: What turns you off when visiting an author’s website/blog? Lack of information? A drone of negativity? Little mention of author’s books? Constant mention of books?

For me, my number one turn off would be if the website is hard to navigate. If I had to jump through a lot of hoops to find one piece of information. Or if a website is too cluttered to focus on one piece of information at a time.

What’s going on with you this month? What turns you off when visiting an author’s website/blog?

Ever been on a cruise? Which cruise did you travel on, where did you go? What’s your favorite cruise memory? What’s the worst thing that happened to you on a cruise? What’s your fantasy/bucket list travel destination? ….I’d love to visit Tahiti and Ahkihabara in Japan. Notre Dame and St. Tropez in France are on my list too. As well as Seoul in South Korea, the Great Wall of China and one of those countryside cultural villages.  And last but not least, the Uyuni salt flats in Bolivia, where the sky and water meet.

Happy Birthday Month (to you)! Happy Valentine’s Day! Happy Black History Month!

PS On the last day of the cruise I found this. You wouldn’t believe how aggravated I felt with myself to learn I had a pencil and a notepad all this time.

11 comments

    • Thanks Alex. Aside from that issue, the rest of the trip was great. The shows and hosts were hilariously fun. The comedians were awesome.
      Still can’t help having a little bit of writer’s guilt though. But like you said, and I’ll remind myself as well, ‘it’s okay, you’re on vacation.’

      Like

    • Me too. Next time I’d get down because I didn’t get any writing done I’m definitely going to tell myself ‘it’s okay, you’re on vacation.’

      Like

    • Romance suspense…why didn’t I think of that? Alright, definitely keeping it as a possible future story idea.
      Before I met the ship, I heard some crazy cruise story about pineapples on doors I’ve never heard before. Gives new meaning to the Love Boat cruise. But good thing I was on, as the cruise MC liked to say, “this is a family cruise!”

      Liked by 1 person

    • It is. I still feel bad for the person who needed medical attention mid-trip. They had to turn the ship around to get them to an ambulance and hospital.
      How was Puerta Vallarta?
      Dressing for dinner was fun. Definitely made the shopping hell I went through preparing for the trip worth it. Plus, I loved the compliments I got on my outfits.

      Like

  1. Sorry to hear you were allergic to something in the room. I’ve never been on a cruise. I’m afraid of deep water and if there were any big waves like I’ve seen on some Tiktoks, that would be it for me. lol

    My birthday is on the 17th so thanks for the Happy birthday shoutout. lol

    Like

    • Never saw the appeal of a cruise before. I mean why travel for vacation by ship when planes can get you to your destination lickety split? Changed my mind now. They’re a lot fun and there’s always a event/show/program scheduled for you to enjoy.

      Oh, there was some strong waves some days, could actually feel them. It was enough to make people zig and zag as they walked. And that was before they had alcohol in them.

      You’re welcome. Hope your birthday will be a blast.

      Like

  2. Sorry something in your cabin made you ill–I hope you had a great time anyway. And maybe it’s good you didn’t find the notepad till the end. Sometimes we writers need a break to recharge.

    Like

Leave a comment