How to Write an Erasure (Covered Up) Poem

Happy National Poetry Month!

Click on the image to get your free National Poetry Month 2024 official poster from The Academy of American Poets!

It’s the third week of National Poetry Month. And for this week I’ll be going over the covered up form of erasure poetry.

The covered up is another of the simplest types of erasure poetry anyone can do. All you need are two things. Any kind of document or text. And any material of your choice like sand, rice, beans, seeds, etc.

The next step is to create your covered up erasure poem. By using your material to cover up the text you don’t want. Hint, you can lightly trace around the words you want to keep. Then use your material to cover up the words around it.

The document I’m using is a sell your house flier taped to my door. And the material I’m using are beans. Here’s my attempt at the covered up erasure poem.

Don’t forget to save the date for Poem In Your Pocket Day this Thursday, April 18th. I’ll be sharing my own poem in my pocket on my blog then too. See you next Monday for the final erasure poem!

What do you think of my poem? Want to try the covered up erasure poetry for yourself? Are you celebrating National Poetry Month? How do you plan to celebrate? Are you taking part in NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month)? Do you have a favorite poem? A favorite poet?

One comment

Leave a comment