How to Write an Erasure (Cut Out) Poem

Happy National Poetry Month!

Click on the image to get your free National Poetry Month 2024 official poster from The Academy of American Poets!

It’s the second week of National Poetry Month. And for this week I’ll be going over the cut out form of erasure poetry.

Last week, I did the computer form first because I thought it’d be the easiest to tackle. I don’t know why I thought that with all the time it took to whiteout/erase the text I didn’t want. 

Anyways, for the cut out all you need is a type of blade. Like a X-acto knife and/or an utility knife to cut the words out of the text. Simple right? As for me, I’m using scissors. Didn’t bother asking my husband if he had any of these precision cutting tools. Considering my past history, sorry for the cliche, it’d be a cold day in hell before he lent me something like that.

As for the document or text, I used an ad from a local newspaper for seniors. And hint, if you’re using a utility tool or knife, make sure to place a piece of cardboard or something hardy under. Another hint, it’s much easier if you use the precision tools I’ve mentioned before than a pair of scissors.

Not to sound repetitive but, don’t forget to save the date for Poem In Your Pocket Day next week Thursday, April 18th. I’ll be sharing my own poem in my pocket on my blog. Which means there’ll be two blog posts in the third week of April. See you next Monday for the next erasure poem!

What do you think of my poem? Want to try the cut out erasure poetry for yourself? Are you celebrating National Poetry Month? How do you plan to celebrate? Are you taking part in NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month)? Do you have a favorite poem? A favorite poet?

5 comments

  1. That’s so creative, Lidy! I’ll definitely be trying that method out, too, although it might take a little rooting around in dusty old boxes for some newspapers I can cut up. It sounds like great fun, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Damyanti. Can’t wait to see what you’ll come up with. Remember when you’re cutting, you’re cutting out the words you don’t want. At the same time keeping the words you do want together. Have fun!

      Like

Leave a comment