Final Tri-Annual Progress Report & 2018 Writing Plan

BEGIN 2018 WRITE

Usually I’d post this during the final days of December, right before the New Year. Alas, December 31 was on a Sunday. And I’ve become a stickler in keeping with my posting schedule. So I compromised to have this post published right as the old year ends and the new year begins.

But before I start regaling you with my final progress report and 2018 writing plans, I just want to say…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

giphy3

Now, in 2017 I made a lot of plans. Some I was on goal, others I was not. In particular in not writing any new stories until at least I’ve completed one or two of my current  WIPs. But I did write 30 new poems in NaPoWriMo this past April. And I did get two poems, both written during NaPoWriMo, published in an online magazine.

Anyways, here’s a look at my writing progress from September to December. And what my writing plan for 2018 will be.

Submissions:

Writing plan in 2018:

  • Write and submit more poems
  • Write more feminist poems for chapbook
  • Revise and edit feminist poems in 2018 NaPoWriMo
  • Find a new title for poetry manuscript
  • Decide whether to self-publish again or submit manuscript to publishing presses and or enter contests
  • Revise/edit forgotten short stories to submit

Wattpad:

Writing plan in 2018:

  • Create another want ad in the Multimedia Designs club forum to find a new cover design for Not Dreaming of You
  • Create another want ad in the Multimedia Designs club forum to find a new cover design for The Soul Traveler
  • Create a want ad in the Multimedia Designs club forum to find new cover designs for the Foreseen series
  • Write and upload new chapters of Dreaming of You on Wattpad
  • Write and upload Not Dreaming of You chapters on Wattpad
  • Write and upload Foreseen stories 1-4 on Wattpad
  • Write and upload Hellsgate on Wattpad

Writing:

Writing plan in 2018:

  • Complete, rewrite, revise/edit, have professionally edited and beta read test The Soul Traveler
  • Pitch and query The Soul Traveler in a pitch party on Twitter and to agents and publishers
  • Write Hellsgate (temp title), a fantasy/supernatural short/novella
  • Write the Foreseen series draft in the 85K90 writing challenge
  • Rewrite, revise/edit, have professionally edited and beta read test Foreseen series
  • Query Foreseen series to Carina Press Dirty Bits and other publishers/anthologies
  • Finish writing Dreaming of You
  • Rewrite, revise/eidt, have professionally edited and beta read test Dreaming of You
  • Write and complete Not Dreaming of You
  • Possibly return to finish writing Harbingers of El Tinor
  • Possibly return to finish writing Nadia the Fire Witch
  • Continue writing and scheduling blog posts once a week, every Monday at 8am
  • Gain 100 more new blog followers
  • Update/redesign blog
  • Read the books my husband got for me for Christmas
  • Plan another 30 Days of Poetry Love blog special for NaPoWriMo April 2018
  • Choose a new story to write or an old story to rewrite in NaNoWriMo 2018

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whew I’m doing a lot in 2018. Good thing I can pick and choose which projects I’ll take on. And that I’m flexible so my writing plan for 2018 isn’t written in stone. Plus, let’s not forget I always take a blogging break from May to August.

What are your writing plans for 2018? Made any New Year’s resolutions?

-As things stand now, I am going to be a writer. I'm not sure that I'm going to be a good one or even a self-supporting one, but until the dark thumb of fate presses me to the dust and says 'You are

 

11 comments

  1. Well dang! I’m tired just reading your plans! That’s awesome. Congrats on getting your poems published last year! (so funny to say that) I have no doubt you’ll do great things this year!!! I feel like I need to step up my game after reading everything you have. My 4 measly goals are nothing. LOL

    Oh for your covers, have you tried playing with Canva? I don’t know what that multimedia group is, but Canva is free and something you can play around with yourself. I learned about it last year and have grown slightly addicted to it. I’m attempting my own cover for my erotic novella since it won’t be a print book.

    Good luck again for 2018!!!

    Like

    • I know right?

      And I love using Canva.com. I use them to create content for my blog and quote arts. As well as make temporary covers (most of the slide show pictures were made using Canva.com). Glad you’ve discovered and love using them too. \Happy New Year!

      Like

Leave a comment