IWSG & Blogging Break

Insecure Writers Support Group New Badge

It’s that time again. It’s the first Wednesday of the month and my fellow blogging writers and I are doing it again. This writing journey is not easy but Commander Peter Quincy Taggart said it best: “Never give up. Never surrender.” And thanks goes to ninja extraordinaire Alex Cavanaugh for creating this support community. So we can do just that. For ourselves and each other.

To find out more about the group and/or maybe even sign-up, click on the badge above.  And don’t forget to check out today’s co-hosts: Nancy Gideon, Tamara Narayan, Liesbet @ Roaming About, Michelle Wallace, and Feather Stone!

Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG and handle is @TheIWSG.

Happy IWSG Day! What’s going with me this month?

Well, I’m preparing for my much needed blog break. But don’t worry, I’ll still pop up back into society for IWSG. Even have a blog post or two that I couldn’t not blog about during my break. Until then, I have two more official posts in May before I go on break.

In the meantime, I’ll continue working on my adult romance Dreaming of You. I’m two-thirds in and just wrote my first bedroom scene. To the romance writers visiting today, let me pick your brain. What can be improved during the rewrite and revise/edit stage? Do you think the chapter is too short? Too long? Does it have enough emotions/internal sensations and evoke the senses? Does it have too much or too little inner dialogue? Mental response? And most importantly is the chapter scorching, meh, or cold fish?

Hopefully, I should be close to writing the words ‘the end’ just in time for Camp NaNoWriMo in July. Afterwards, I’m going to put it away and let it stew a bit. For camp, I’m dusting off my urban/portal fantasy novella The Soul Traveler.

While I’m doing that I’ll be looking for presses, journals, contests, etc to submit my poetry to. As well as editing, revising and rewriting my NaPoWriMo poems (I won :-D) for my second chapbook Triplicity (temp title).

If you’re familiar with my poetry and know of a press or journal that’ll be a good fit, let me know. If not, here’s some of my work on VerseWrights. If they accept previously published work, that’s a plus in my book too.

What’s going on with you this month? Did you do Camp NaNoWriMo or NaPoWriMo last month? Did you meet your goals, complete the challenge? What do you plan to do next?

Continue 2017 WriteSpringSummer 2017 writing project

May 3 Question: What is the weirdest/coolest thing you ever had to research for your story?

Easy. Wicca spells, numerology, familiars and elemental spirits. And the most interesting was how geography, religion/community effected the witch trials. In Salem, an accused witch was often tested and found guilty. And punished by fire, drowning, etc.

An accused witch in colonial Virginia often had the case dismissed. Or received a fine or lashes. Why? If I remember correctly, it was because colonial New England was mostly Puritan. They had a stricter, more rigid moral code. And were a big believer in harsh punishment of sins. Satanism and witchcraft was sin numero uno.

Colonial Virginia weren’t as comfortable using those particular punishments. Also, colonial New England had a harsher climate compared to Virginia. So more than likely suffered more crop failures. Which also spurred dislike and jealousy towards their more successful neighbors. Or pointing fingers at undesirables as the cause of their misery. Giving birth to the witch hysteria.

Virginia’s most famous witch, was found guilty and convicted, was Grace Sherwood, the witch of Pungo.

PS If you have a hankering to guest blog or have a book promotion during this time, I’d be glad to feature you. I post on Mondays, so if you have preferred month and date, contact me.

A word, after a word, after a word is power.- Margaret Atwood

16 thoughts on “IWSG & Blogging Break

  1. Hi Lidy. It sounds like you have really been busy. I admire all your talents in the broad range from Adult romance, YA, to poetry. My
    Last short story was adult focused but I much prefer YA. Last weird research? Meteor showers for my new YA manuscript I am just beginning. I am interested in guest blogging sometime 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy your blogging break, Lidy! Love that Margaret Atwood quote. I can’t help you out with the romance questions. I have yet to write a bedroom scene. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. After my firat attemot t writing one, I have give props to all the romance writers. Don’t know how they do it for so many series.

      Like

  3. I am in desperate need of a blogging break as well, but I have at least two commitments this month plus a Friday blog hop. I’ll get through these and then think about how to scale back. I’m just not getting any writing done and after A to Z, I’m kinda sick of spending my whole day blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on winning NaPoWriMo and reaching your goals. It seems like you have been busy and making a lot of progress. And, more importantly: you have a plan and get things done! Chapeau! I imagine researching witches and that era is quite interesting. I’ve been to Salem, MA a few times (we have friends living there), but never actually visited the Witch Museum.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You work so hard with your writing and commit to it so much. You should feel proud of winning Camp Nanowrimo ❤ Also, I wish you all the best with submitting your poetry to journals and competitions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

