Tri-Annual Writing Progress Report #1

Continue 2017 Write

At the end of 2016, I came up with some 2017 writing goals. So where am I at on these goals? Well, let’s see.

It’s been at least two years or more since I’ve participated in NaPoWriMo, the 30 poems in 30 days challenge. So how did I do so far in 2017?

Well I won! I wrote 30 poems in 30 days, although I did have to play catch up about three times. And did so by the skin of my teeth. Twelve minutes before midnight actually.

I now have a new stack of sketched poetry. Poems to revise, edit, send off to submissions and assemble my second chapbook. Thanks to the support and urging of my Scribophile poetry friends, already sent out four of the new poems. Currently keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll receive an acceptance. Have high hopes for my new feminist poem “Things to Tell My Daughter.”

As of now, my adult romance Dreaming of You is almost complete. I’d hoped to upload chapter 15 (my first bedroom/sex scene) on Wattpad this past weekend. But had to forego that to complete the challenge. Anyways, I’d say there’s another 9-11 chapters before it’s complete. Afterwards, I’ll put it away to stew. Already, I’m thinking about adding extra chapters I think is missing from the story.

Next, I plan to review and re-outline my young adult urban/portal fantasy The Soul Traveler. Doing Camp NaNoWriMo in July and setting up a word count goal of 20,000 words.

So far, I’m on schedule with my 2017 plans. And soon I’ll be going on my blogging break. It’s the perfect time to buckle down and keep this writing train going. But don’t worry, I’ll say my see you later before I do. And I won’t completely disappear from the blogosphere. Other than that, here are my writing stats:

Dreaming of You- 60,123 word count, 167 pages

  • On Wattpad- 933 reads, 50 votes

NaPoWriMo/Triplicity- 30 poems

Short stories- 0

How’s the year turned out for you so far? On plan with any of your 2017 goals?

PS If you have a hankering to guest blog or have a book promotion during this time, I’d be glad to feature you. I post on Mondays, so if you have preferred month and date, contact me.

-As things stand now, I am going to be a writer. I'm not sure that I'm going to be a good one or even a self-supporting one, but until the dark thumb of fate presses me to the dust and says 'You are

7 thoughts on “Tri-Annual Writing Progress Report #1

    • Thanks Heather. Had to tell myself to slow down too. I’m a slow writer and so I’ve realized no matter how much I want I can’t possibly do everything I want to do. Best to tackle what needs my immediate attention first and one project at a time. Now that the poetry writing is out of the way, I can refocus again on the romance novel. And hopefully I can complete and get it out of the way by Camp NaNoWriMo.
      Happy writing to us both! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

