IWSG Day & National Poetry Month

Insecure Writers Support Group New Badge

It’s the first Wednesday of the month and you know what that means. We writers get together over the blogosphere to share our woes and give each other support. After all this writing business can get rather lonely. And can use a little reminder we’re not alone on our writing journeys. So who to thank for getting us together? Why, ninja extraordinaire Alex J. Cavanaugh.
Don’t forget to visit this month’s awesome co-hosts:  Christopher D. Votey, Madeline Mora-Summonte, Fundy Blue, and Chrys Fey!
Our Twitter handle and hashtag are @THEIWSG and #IWSG
So two things have been going on with me lately. The first is that I found the ladies who’ll be the source of my inspiration. For both the current WIP series and its spin-off. As well as some of their leading men. Even made temporary Wattpad covers for two of the books. What do you think?

 

Second, I’m half way through my manuscript Dreaming of You. Of course now that I’ve reached the second half, I’d realized I have a convoluted mess on my hands. So I did what I had to. I cut, rearranged scenes, printed the latter half so I can better write and rewrite the story.

Oh wait, guess there’s a third thing on my mind too. I’m doing NaPoWriMo for the first time in a long while. So along with my annual 30 Days of Poetry Love blog project, I’m writing 30 poems in 30 days. And already I’m four days behind.

So excuse me if I’m being much too slow in replying to comments as I have some poems to sketch. In the meantime…

National Poetry Month Logo

Credit image: National Poetry Month logo/Poets.org

 

Happy poetry month. It’s day five and for today, I’m doing something a bit different. Today’s poem was not written by Dr. Angelou. Instead it was written by Sojourner Truth and is recited by Dr. Angelou.

I came across the poem I guess you can say during a lucky time. At a precarious time for women to be exact. As well as other races, religions, etc. It seems almost daily we’re bombarded with waves of misogyny. as if to say ‘ha, ha, we’re here. We never left.  Just bided our time. Now we can do what we’ve always wanted. And there’s nothing you can do.’ Mocking us for the progressive effort we’ve pushed for and achieved.

Then I came across the poem Ain’t I a Woman? And immediately after #BackWomenAtWork was trending on Twitter last week. Now, it’s true that all women face discrimination. We still are not paid equally to men or else we wouldn’t need Equal Pay Day to address the issue. Also the right for women to vote passed 97 years ago.

But when you’re a woman of a certain race, culture and/or religion, you face another set of discrimination. If you’re a black woman, you’re preconceived as being loud, combative and confrontational. If you’re black or brown you’re most likely to get pregnant in high school. And or have many children with different fathers. If you’re Muslim, you’re a terrorist.

I love this particular poem, recited wonderfully by Maya Angelou, for its rawness. Its simpleness and emotiveness. The title itself is appropriate. It questions the atrocious treatment of black women during slavery. Yet men have proclaimed women as precious beings. A gender deserving to be taken care of, to cherish and respect. So why not her?

You can even bring the question to modern day and ask why we’re still treated differently. Why aren’t all women cherished and respected as they deserved? Why are most men threatened to see us as their equal and try to demonize feminism? Why are we even today dictated over by men in power? Tupac said it best:

You know what makes me unhappy
When brothers make babies, and leave a young mother to be a pappy
And since we all came from a woman
Got our name from a woman and our game from a woman
I wonder why we take from our women
Why we rape our women, do we hate our women?
I think it’s time to kill for our women
Time to heal our women, be real to our women
And if we don’t we’ll have a race of babies
That will hate the ladies that make the babies
And since a man can’t make one
He has no right to tell a woman when and where to create one
So will the real men get up

Maya Angelou reading Ain’t I A Woman? by Sojourner Truth

maya and sojourner

Credit image (left to right): Maya Angelou official website; http://www.famousafricanamericans.org

 

16 thoughts on “IWSG Day & National Poetry Month

  1. I love poetry! Way to go, committing to the challenge and I hope you’ll be able to catch up and stay on top of it for all of April! It’s been forever since I sat down to pen out that kind of prose, and I kind of miss it. =) Best wishes with the Wattpad stories!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just checked out Maya Angelou’s first book of poetry from my local library! And I forgot all about this month being National Poetry Month, too. Wow. She was reaching out to me. 🙂 I’ve always loved her poems. And her voice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, her voice. Maya Angelou is eloquence personified. She can take the most dreary and boring of writing, read ingredients on the back of a box and make it sound beautiful. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the book.

      Like

    • You’re welcome Karen. I can listen to her all day. It’s so soothing and you just know you’re going to come out a little more riser afterwards.

      Like

    • Yes. And it must start with all of us. We must do it together.
      Lol, glad to hear. Beauty comes in all shapes and sizes. It’s not a one size (skinny) fits all.

      Like

  3. I’m very in and out with Wattpad! I forget about it for months and then rediscover it again. I’m supposedly doing Camp Nanowrimo right now but we’re 5 days in and so far nothing! I’m working on revisions though.

    Here’s my IWSG for April Stephanie Scott YA Author

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to be the same. I try to go on as much as possible and schedule one day for Wattpad stuff only. But haven’t been able to make a commitment so far. Except to upload my WIP chapter by chapter. Building a presence on the site and the forums, take a back seat.
      I so understand ‘supposedly’ since I’m ‘supposedly’ doing NaPoWriMo and have to catch up on four days already. Good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo and if you’re doing camp again over the summer, might see you there. 😀

      Like

    • Thank you. And that’s great. You won’t regret it and guarantee to discover a new poet who’d blow you away. To love and follow. Happy poetry month!

      Like

  4. Wow, Lidy, you are ambitious! Way to go! Sending you best wishes and a shot of energy. Sometimes I think men don’t want to accept women as equals because deep down inside they know we’re not equal, we’re superior! I can’t imagine what it would be like to have my children sold into slavery. I wonder what Sojourner Truth would think of a Martian Rover named after her? I bet she’d trade that honor just to have back one of her children. Have a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

