2016 Writing Progress & Writing Goals for 2017


Whew, the year’s passing so fast and considering how the year’s been so far I wonder if all this rush is because the end is near. Smh, look at me going all cardboard sign repent and wages of sin.

Anyways, time is obviously not on my side. And because NaNoWriMo is next month, I’ve decided to reassess my writing goals early. I usually do it in December but figure I’ll be a bit burned out by then. So a head start is a definite must.

They’re a lot of things I wasn’t able to do per my original plans for 2016. But just as many things happened that weren’t a part of said plans. Everything which will also influence my 2017 goals. The biggest of all is that I’m a ssssllllooooowwww writer. Hence, I must plan better in mind of that.

There’s no way, I’m going to get a manuscript done in three months. So instead of focusing on three to four manuscripts, like my initial 2016 writing plans. I’ll work on at least one or two full length work in progress novels. And a few shorter works.

I can use National Poetry Month to write poems for Triplicity (temporary title). A feminist poetry manuscript celebrating womanhood, our triumphs and burdens. As well as the exclusivity and inclusion experienced by women of color. And the anti-women, misogynist and rape culture issues we all face. Really, ‘locker room’ talk?

Another agenda for 2017 is to submit a whole lot more. I fell off the submission wagon around April and haven’t gotten back on since. Well in 2017, I’m going to submit like crazy. Go back to those journals and magazines who asked to submit to them again in the future. Hopefully out of the dozens, no hundreds, of submissions bring a few acceptances for publication.

Right now, I have all my materials for my NaNoWriMo 2016 novel (will share more about it next week so stay tuned). So will focus on writing as many chapters as possible for Dreaming of You by November 1st. I’ve just reached the dreaded middle and I always blank out at the middle. But lucky for me I bought and used as a guide James Scott Bell’s Write Your Novel From the Middle. I talked about this last year as one my writing tools used for NaNoWriMo 2015. So have plenty of material to rewrite and revise.

I’ve even thought of going back to the shorts I wrote during college. And self-publishing an ebook of them. Other than that, there’ll be no more new works. I can jot down notes and create storyboards on Pinterest, but I’m not starting a new novel. My major focus of 2017 (and from now on) are these three areas only: 1) submitting 2) finish 1 or more of my current WIP(s) and 3) poetry. Now the only thing left is to choose which one of my current manuscript(s) will I finally get to stamp ‘the end’ to.  And a possible alternate to work when I need a break.


Achieved any of your writing plans for 2016? Have you given thought yet on your writing plans for 2017?

PS I’ve already started thinking about how I’ll celebrate 2017 National Poetry Month. For the past two years, I’ve celebrated April with my own 30 Days of Poetry Love project on my blog. The first year, I interviewed 30 poets. Last year, I shared videos/sound recordings of 30 of my favorite poems. For 2017 I was thinking of focusing on 4 poets and sharing 7 of their poems that have either touched me. Or that I believe more people should know about. Maya Angelou is one of those four poets. What do you think?

i'm a writer. hear me roar!

PSS I’ll be away for NaNoWriMo and looking for some guest bloggers to take over. If you’re interested, take a look at the sign up form below.  Make sure to send all your media content (author and/or book photo). And your social media and buy links and blog post by the end of October. If more time is needed, then a week before your guest blog date.

*Monday November 7th, Wednesday November 23rd and Monday November 28th has been taken. There are two open Mondays left.


13 thoughts on “2016 Writing Progress & Writing Goals for 2017

    • Thanks Alex.. I hope so too. And as much as I’d like to be those prolific writers who writes 6 books or more a year, I’m just not. But still, how do they do it.


  1. I haven’t written very many books, but one thing I’m quickly learning is that every project is different. Some are more difficult to write, some are just easier. I used to set all these lofty goals in the past, but now, especially with having small children, I realize I have to be flexible with my deadlines.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true. How you feel about one story may be different for another. Might be excited or feel more dread, hence effects your productivity. Then there’s also work, kids, cooking, laundry…omg I wish time turners were real.


    • Good luck with closing the year on a high note. But yeah, I understand the feeling. I still can’t believe that I’m already thinking about my plans for 2017. It feels like it just turned 2016 not too long ago.


Leave a Reply

