IWSG Day – Am I Done Yet?

Insecure Writers Support Group New Badge

Omigod it’s October already. Which means there’s one more month left until NaNoWriMo and two more left in 2016! The year passed quickly but I’m glad I had my writing warriors with me. Encouraging and offering support. Sharing our successes and offering a virtual shoulder to lean on. All thanks for the opportunity to band together goes to ninja extraordinaire Alex Cavanaugh.

To find out more about the group and/or maybe even sign-up, click on the badge above.  And don’t forget to check out the awesome co-hosts for October: Beverly Stowe McClure, Megan Morgan, Viola Fury, Madeline Mora-Summonte, Angela Wooldridge, and Susan Gourley!

Don’t forget to check out the guidelines for this year’s IWSG Anthology Contest! The theme is fantasy.

Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG.

October 5 Question: When do you know your story is ready?

When do I know my story is ready? Want the simple answer or the not so simple answer? Either way the answer’s the same for both.

I never do know.

I’m a perpetual second guesser. Guess it comes with the occupation of being a writer. One minute I’d think a passage is perfect the way it is. The next, I think it’s all wrong and go back to fix it. I’d come across an error I hadn’t noticed before and correct it. The next second, I have an epiphany that the error was some kind of happy accident that needs to be changed back.

I agonize over scenes, tensions, characterization, setting, etc. It’s the same with poetry too. I nitpick over lines, connotation, the breadth and depth of words, etc. over and over. I fix it, add onto it, cut things out, go back to the original version. It’s pretty much an endless cycle that continues on until I think enough is enough. This should be good enough.

So to answer this month’s question, I never know when it’s ready. I put my trust (and hope to god I’m right) that it’s ready for you, the reader.

Does that make sense?

PS I’ll be away for NaNoWriMo and looking for some guest bloggers to take over. If you’re interested, take a look at the sign up form below.  Make sure to send all your media content (author and/or book photo). And your social media and buy links and blog post by the end of October.

16 thoughts on “IWSG Day – Am I Done Yet?

  1. Sounds like we have similar issues with nitpicking. I keep changing little things and then changing them back. I don’t think that effort is a complete waste, though, because if I don’t at least try it the other way, I won’t know for certain that the first way is better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think maybe the second-guessing syndrome is part of being a writer. I mean, we LOVE words and the things we can do with them, but we want to do our BEST with them, right? We want our words to sing. So we think THIS way is best, or no, wait… THAT way is better… or no, I had it right the first time… and on and on and on. (But ain’t it grand?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Too true. You can never know for sure. Sometimes you have to go with what you feel. But wouldn’t it be nice if it came with it’s own clock and the alarm goes off to let us know?😉


Leave a Reply

