30 Days of Poetry Love 2- Anthology- Langston Hughes*


Credit image: National Poetry Month logo/Poets.org

It’s day 4 of National Poetry Month!

As you can see, I’ve only just posted poetry readings of my favorite poems, instead of the poem itself. I’d originally planned to embed the poems from Poets.org or Poetryfoundation.org. Unfortunately they didn’t appear on my blog as it should.

I’d love to feature the poem itself but I’m unsure about the copyright issues surrounding it. Which means, to err on the side of caution, my anthology will consist of poetry readings only. Which also means, I have to replan the anthology. As not every poem I’ll feature this month will have a reading available to share. In the meantime, I’ll also include links to where you can read the poem and more of the poet’s work.


Credit image: Poets.org

Anyways, today’s featured poem is by Harlem renaissance poet, Langston Hughes. When I first read his poem Mother to Son in class all those long years ago, I couldn’t relate to it. Until now, when I had kids of my own. And damn, these kids don’t realize how lucky they have it. They could get a tablet just like that. But when I was their age, it was so hard for me to get even a doll.

Well, here is a poetry reading of Mother to Son by Viola Davis from How to Get Away with Murder. And then by the poet himself!:

Poets Promotion Blog Title Banner

6 thoughts on “30 Days of Poetry Love 2- Anthology- Langston Hughes*

    • Thought it’d be a great addition for poetry month. I’d like to have used the full quote. But I think that sentence pretty much sums up the importance of poetry.


Leave a Reply

