30 Days of Poetry Love 2- Anthology- Elizabeth Barrett Browning*

Credit image: National Poetry Month logo/Poets.org

Credit image: National Poetry Month logo/Poets.org

Happy National Poetry Month!

It’s day two and today’s poem I’ve mentioned several times during my blog tour. If you’ve been following my tour stops, you probably already know which poem I’m featuring today.

Credit image: Poets.org

This particular poem was one of 44 love sonnets written by Elizabeth Barrett Browning. The collection was published in 1850 under the title “Sonnets from the Portuguese.” It is mostly known as sonnet 43 and also as “How much do I love thee?, Let me count the ways.”:

https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/how-do-i-love-thee-sonnet-43?mbd=1

What’s your favorite love poem? What’s your favorite sonnet? In your personal opinion, which poet, living or dead, do you think is THE master of this form?

Poets Promotion Blog Title Banner

7 thoughts on “30 Days of Poetry Love 2- Anthology- Elizabeth Barrett Browning*

  1. I remember that from school…and I remember some comedian’s joke about it on a sitcom. Was it Gilligan’s Island? All I remember was him saying, “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. One, two, three, four…”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooh I really love that poem about in what ways do I love thee! I don’t think I have read much of her poetry at all so I am going to have to look into some more of that and see what I discover. If they’re all like this I think I will greatly enjoy these 44 sonnets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t remember exactly when I first heard/read this poem. Possibly around 3rd grade. But I do remember thinking, ‘ah, I want a love like that’ and or ‘ah, that what love suppose to look like.’ And this poem has stayed with me ever since.

      Like

Leave a Reply

