Undead Origins: How Did The Undead Road Come To Be?

UndeadRoad_Tour Banner

I interrupt this regular blog programming to bring to you The Undead Road by David Powers King! Today, I am a tour host in The Undead Road Tour. And author David Powers King shares with us the origins to his zombie apocalypse novel. Enjoy!

Thanks for having me, Lidy!

In my early teen years, I had an insatiable craving for monster movies. I’d go to Blockbuster (remember those?) and rent all kinds: Vampires. Godzilla. The classic Universal monsters. While enjoyable, none of them really stuck. And then, one fateful night, I stayed up late to watch the 1990s remake of Night of the Living Dead after everyone had gone to bed. Didn’t sleep that night. I was overwhelmed with fascination and absolute dread.

An exploration of all things zombie went into effect, but I had a difficult time with the horror aspect of it. It wasn’t until Resident Evil came out that helped me rethink the monster in a more science fiction capacity. This was all before I decided to be a writer. Since then, I had always wanted to create my own take on the flesh-eating ghouls, but I have a tendency to be picky and wanted to figure out how to make it emotionally satisfying for me. Watching the first episode of The Walking Dead changed all that—and I wrote the first chapter that night. It was working!

After that I sat down and plotted out a story, created a character bible, and drafted the story on and off while preparing for the release of my first published novel, WOVEN. Then, after almost a year of having The Undead Road on submission and ultimately turned down (with high praise from the editors), I’ve decided I would self-publish whatever doesn’t pass the traditional gate. As a great and wise author friend said to me, “if it’s good, why sit on it?” Makes sense to me!

And that’s how The Undead Road, and my upcoming zombie works, have come to be.


Title: The Undead Road: My Zombie Summer: Part One

Publisher: Dashboard Books / CreateSpace

Ebook Release: January 2st, 2016

Paperback: January 26th, 2016

Cover by Steven Novak

Edited by Reece Hanzon


Nothing brings the family together like a zombie apocalypse

Fifteen-year-old Jeremy Barnes would rather watch a zombie movie than shoot a real one, but he has no choice if his family wants to survive the end of the world. Their plan? Drive across the infected United States to a cabin in the Colorado Rockies without a scratch, but their trip takes a complicated detour in the middle of Nebraska when they find Kaylynn, a girl who can handle a baseball bat better than Jeremy can hold a .45 Berretta. And when they stumble into a sanctuary, Jeremy soon learns that Kaylynn is stronger than she looksa deadly secret lies inside her.

After the radio picks up a distress call from Kansas City about a possible cure, Jeremy’s parents go with a team to investigate. They never return. The only way to find their parents is for Jeremy and his sister Jewel to rely on a dangerous girl who might just turn on them at any moment.

Amazon | Amazon.CA | Amazon.UK | Amazon.AU | CreateSpace | Kindle Store

Phrase for The Undead Road:

“For me, zombie stories are never about the killing. They’re about the survivors and how people deal with the apocalypse. To this undead end, David Powers King has come up with the most original spin on zombies I’ve ever read.” – Michael Offutt, author of Slipstream and Oculus

Contest Details:

Visit davidpowersking.com and leave and comment and/or tweet about The Undead Road (at least once) for a chance to win a free ebook. One out of every 10 comments and tweets is a winner! Use the Twitter Button below to ensure the author will see your tweet. Thank you!

Twitter Button HTML:

“Nothing brings the family together like a #zombie #apocalypse…” #scifi #horror amzn.to/1RT8xly .99 cent #kindle! @DavidPowersKing

The ebook is on sale Jan 25-29th for .99 cents in the Kindle store!

Don’t forget to visit the other The Undead Road blog tour hosts this week!:

Alex Cavanaugh– Jan 25th | Donna Hole- Jan 25th | Chemist Ken– Jan 26th | Elana Johnson– Jan 26th | Nick Wilford– Jan 26th | Susan Gourley– Jan 27th | Tara Tyler– Jan 27th | Kristin Smith– Jan 28th | Elizabeth Seckman– Jan 28th | M.J. Fifield– Jan 29th | Michael de Gesu– Jan 29th

About the Author:

DPK 2015David Powers King was born in beautiful downtown Burbank, California where his love for film inspired him to be a writer. He is the coauthor of the YA fantasy novel WOVEN, published by Scholastic. An avid fan of science fiction and fantasy, David also has a soft spot for zombies and the paranormal. He currently lives deep in the mountain West with his wife and three children.

Blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Newsletter



11 thoughts on “Undead Origins: How Did The Undead Road Come To Be?

  1. It was interesting to learn how his zombie novel came into existence! I am very wary of zombie movies and books – the plot can be so hard to get right in them! There is one zombie book which I love, which was Dying for a Living by Kory M. Shrum. I need to read book two! But I also want to give more zombie books a chance. I’m gonna have to keep an eye out for this one :3

    Liked by 1 person

    • A zombie apocalypse is my worst nightmare come to life. When I was a child, I binged on movies like Night of the Living Dead like it was water. Not anymore. Maybe because of Resident Evil and how gory the zombie attacking and eating humans. But nowadays, I avoid watching zombie movies so I won’t have nightmares of being chased by zombies. FYI I always get caught but at least I wake up right before I get bit…shudder.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Personally, I think it’s a good call to self-publish these days. I’ve largely decided to skip on trade publishing for now. Mainly because there are too many hoops to jump through for too little meaningful returns.

    Maybe one day I’ll go back if the industry changes, but right now, I’m enjoying the freedom that comes from not worrying if what I’m writing will sell.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

