Writing Plans for 2016

BEGIN 2016 WRITE 2.0

Well I’ve given it some thought and somehow managed to come up with a quasi writing plan for 2016. It’s definitely not made of stone, so there’s room for flexibility. And definitely I will not add any new ventures onto my plate unlike I did with 2015. Well at least, I’ll try.

First, I’ll critique 3 works on Scribophile every weekend. I need to build up my karma points so that I have enough to start uploading my work for critiques. It’ll  help to sharpen my critiquing skills too, as it’s gotten rather dull. So I’ll either focus on critiquing one set of poetry and two shorts or one short and one chapter (at a time if need be).

Next up on my 2016 writing plan is to focus on completing my first full length poetry collection. It is my hope to submit my poetry manuscript, Triplicity, in time to the Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize. Their deadline is April 30, 2016. So the first three months will be dedicated to writing poetry. And getting feedback, editing, compiling and polishing the manuscript.

By April, my focus will return to my young adult urban and portal fantasy, The Soul Traveler. I plan to submit to the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future final quarter between July and September 2015. So the next three or so months, will be geared to rewriting. Getting feedback and editing and polishing The Soul Traveler.

By July/August, I’ll return to my NaNoWriMo contemporary romance novel, Dreaming of You. I’ll upload it on Wattpad. And enter it into the Harlequin So You Think You Can Write 2016 Contest which begins in September. Of course that time will focus on rewriting, getting feedback, and you know the drill. (I’ll also take February to going back and complete writing the story)

*You’re not already following me on Wattpad? Do you like reading romance novels? Now is your chance. Would love to hear your thoughts too. Plus I’ll send out notice  and reminders when Dreaming of You is up for your reading pleasure. Just click here and don’t forget to vote. Just click the star to show that you liked it. And help promote it on Facebook and Twitter with the proper hashtag. I’ll let you know when the time comes.

I hope to spend the final months of the year querying my 2013 NaNoWriMo manuscript, Nadia the Fire Witch.  I’ve been working on the novel for the past two years. And have uploaded seven chapters so far on Wattpad. Another work in progress I have up on the site is the epic fantasy Harbingers of El Tinor which is still in hiatus. And with all my other writing plans, I’ll continue working on NtFW throughout the year. Hopefully, I’m able to complete and polish as polish can be the manuscript by November 2016. Ready to query to agents and small presses and even pitch during the final Twitter pitch of the year.

There’s also a high chance I’ll take part in NaNoWriMo 2016. I’m thinking of using the writing challenge to complete Harbingers of El Tinor. Or start a rough draft of another story idea, I have a growing list of them. The most recent one is about a runaway who witnesses a violent crime during the California wild fires. Tentative title is “Into the Fire.” Or “WildFire” is another possible title.

Are you ready for 2016? Have any plans or goals you wish to achieve in 2016?


i'm a writer. hear me roar!

10 thoughts on “Writing Plans for 2016

    • Thanks Kelly. Now next, I have to compass my end, to reaching these deadlines, and come up with micro goals I can commit to. I’m afraid the mapping part was easy.:-/


    • Thanks. Right now I’m researching and evaluating tips that’ll best help me meet my writing deadlines. I do well with 15 minute word sprints and will incorporate word sprints in my daily/weekly micro goals. And I’d love that too. Will definitely keep you posted. Already started on building my karma points on Scrib. Just 1.14 away from 5 karma points:-/ Happy New Year’s!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a fantastic writing plan! This is exactly what I need to do for 2016, and you’ve inspired me to get cracking. I’ve never used Scribophile or Wattpad but will check them out. Best of luck with all your writing projects for 2016 and do keep us all updated on your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 2016 Writing Progress & Writing Goals for 2017 | Paving My Author's Road

Leave a Reply

