NaNoWriMo Novel Reveal & October Update

2015- DoY and TST by lidy wilks (1)

Really, I think I should have done this post yesterday. Oh well…anyways Happy day two of NaNoWriMo!

As you know, I spent October trying to decide on a novel for NaNoWriMo. I created a poll and you, my readers, casted your votes. At the same time, I continued to ponder on it and brainstormed. From characters, plots and subplots, settings, to loglines and taglines, etc. And now, I believe I’ve come to a decision. But first let me sort out their rankings:

In 1st place: Story #3 The Soul Traveler

In 2nd place/1st runner-up: Story #2 Nadia and the Immortal Witch

In 3rd place/2nd runner-up: Story #1 Dreaming of You

pick my novel 1st, 2nd, 3rd place

Congratulations to all! You were all great story ideas and it wasn’t easy choosing between the three. Which is why, I’ve come to the decision to be a NaNoWriMo rebel. And do both “Dreaming of You” first and “The Soul Traveler” second. Whether I am able to complete both in November is inconsequential. Because then I’ll use December as my own second National Novel Writing Month. And work on “The Soul Traveler” then.

Now that is out of the way, here is a list of my writing update(s) for October:

  • Sent three poems to the So to Speak (feminist journal) 2016 Poetry Contest
    • This is my second submission entry to the journal. Although it’s my first entry to their contest. Unfortunately I completely missed the regular submission deadline to the journal itself. Which would’ve made it my third submission to So to Speak:-/
  • I’m still waiting on the status of my poetry submissions from September to All We Can Hold, Zymbol, Room Magazine and Pembroke Magazine.
    • Wish me luck!

PS What do you think of the loglines and taglines I created for “Dreaming of You” and “The Soul Traveler”?

Dreaming of You logline: A doctor and her patient each struggle to live the lives they think they deserve while forbidden feelings blooms between them.

Dreaming of You tagline: Second chances are forever.

The Soul Traveler logline: A young girl partners with an agent, in desperate pursuit of the criminal who’s hijacked her body.

The Soul Traveler tagline: Be careful what you dream for.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? What are you doing to make sure you don’t go off track from your novel’s core storyline?

PS Day 1 of NaNoWriMo was a slow writing day which also happened to be laundry day.:-/ Despite that, and with mood enhancers of Moscato wine, Hershey kisses, the R&B Love Songs station on Pandora and a lovely backyard to send my boys out to play (and outta my hair), I managed to write 2,656 words!😀

I am a writer. Therefore, I am not sane.-Edgar Allen Poe 2.0

13 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Novel Reveal & October Update

  1. Hi, Lidy – I like both but I think I’m more partial to the log line and tag line for The Soul Traveler. I’m sure I’m already in last place for nanowrimo. Wrote a partial word count on 11/1. Didn’t have a chance to continue yesterday. May not today either. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I like Travelers’ loglines and taglines, as well as Dreaming’s tagline. Will tweak its logline later. And Don worry what place you’ll be in NaNo. Just writing what you can, no matter how little, puts you in first place. It’s only day 3, you can always make it up. Keep writing. I’ll be cheering you on!


Leave a Reply

