Poetry Reading of “Tell it to the Bogeyman”

Credit image: Wikipedia.com                        Goya’s Que viene el Coco (“Here Comes the Bogeyman / The Bogeyman is Coming”) c. 1797

Last year, when I made up writing plans for 2015, my goal was to not only share my own poetry on the site. But to also include a clip of myself reciting my poems.

Sad to say, I’ve not done that yet. As there’s no better time than the present, with two months left before it’s 2016. Especially as Halloween is this Saturday, here’s my first reading of my poem “Tell it to the Bogeyman.”


So how was my reading? Did you use to believe in creatures like the bogeyman and other creatures that go bump in the night?

Are you on SoundCloud? Do you like listening to poetry readings on SoundCloud, or do you prefer YouTube?

You can find “Tell it to the Bogeyman” and my other poems at VerseWrights.

Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to

16 thoughts on “Poetry Reading of “Tell it to the Bogeyman”

    • Thanks Chrys. I was nervous at first so it took a couple of tries to get it right. Still I prefer this than actually getting up on stage, reading to a room full of people (which I’ll eventually have to do one day). Last time I stood in front of an audience, I was rewarded with a microphone imprint on my cheek. After I fainted of course. Now on the subject of things that go bump in the night…I use to love watching scary movies when I was younger. Especially around Halloween. But one thing that scared the willies out of me was that chick named after that tomato juice and vodka drink. Did not mess around with that one. Did not want her coming out at all…shudder.


  1. Thanks for sharing Lidy, good to hear your voice! I used to believe in monsters under the bed… Now? I think most of the monsters are actually in my head! But if I watch horror movie (which I rarely do these days) then I sleep with the lights on! I guess an overactive imagination goes with the territory doesn’t it? x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Rachael. When I was younger, there wasn’t a scary movie that could scare me. I’d always enjoyed the horde of scary movies that came on TV for Halloween. But now, the horror/monster movie(s) I can’t stand to watch are zombie movies…shudder :-l

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t believe in creatures which go bump in the night, but I do like the sound of this reading! I had never heard of this poem before either, so everything was new to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

