Happy Birthday Harry Potter!

Happy Birthday!

I’m still on break, but I just had to do this post. If you’re a Harry Potter fan like me, you’ll understand why.

Today, Harry Potter, turns 35 years old today!

Harry Potter, aka The Boy Who Lived, aka The Chosen One, was born on July 31, 1980. And shares the same birthday as author and creator, JK Rowling.

And to celebrate, I’m sharing 35 of my favorite, memorable, heart-piercing, gut-wrenching and humorous quotes and lines from the books!

From my bookshelf

From my bookshelf

“Yer great puddin’ of a son don’ need fattenin’ anymore, Dursley, don’ worry.”-Hagrid

“The wand chooses the wizard, remember… I think we must expect great things from you, Mr. Potter…After all, He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named did great things- terrible, yes, but great.”- Mr. Ollivander

“I think I can tell who the wrong sort are for myself, thanks.”-Harry

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.”-Albus Dumbledore

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”-Albus Dumbledore

From my bookshelf

From my bookshelf

Harry Potter must not go back to Hogwarts.”-Dobby

“We have a very different idea of what disgraces the name of wizard, Malfoy.”-Arthur Weasley

“No one asked your opinion, you filthy little Mudblood.”-Draco Malfoy (I remember thinking ‘oh no, he didn’t’ when I read this line)

“You will also find that help will always be given at Hogwarts to those who ask for it.”- Albus Dumbledore

“You shall not harm Harry Potter!”-Dobby

Credit image: Barnes and Noble

Credit image: Barnes and Noble

“If there’s something wrong with the bitch, there’ll be something wrong with the pup-“- Aunt Marge (hateful, hateful Aunt Marge)

“Nasty temper he’s got, that Sirius Black.”- Peeves

“Quite the double act, Sirius Black and James Potter!”- Madam Rosmerta


“You are- truly your father’s son, Harry…”- Sirius Black

From my bookshelf

From my bookshelf

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”-Sirius Black

“You fail to recognize that it matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be!”-Albus Dumbledore

“Muggle women wear them, Archie, not the men, they wear these,’ said the Ministry wizard, and he brandished the pinstriped trousers.

‘I’m not putting them on,’ said old Archie in indignation. ‘I like a healthy breeze ’round my privates, thanks.”- unknown ministry wizard & Archie (LMAOLMAOLMAOLMAO)

“I hate being poor.” -Ron Weasley

“Harry… take my body back, will you? Take my body back to my parents…” -ghostly Cedric Diggory

Credit image: Barnes and Noble

Credit image: Barnes and Noble

“You know, Minister, I disagree with Dumbledore on many counts…but you cannot deny he’s got style…” – Phineas Nigellus

“In the end, it mattered not that you could not close your mind. It was your heart that saved you.” -Albus Dumbledore

“Kreacher said nothing,” said the elf, with a second bow to George, adding in a clear undertone, “and there’s its twin, unnatural little beasts they are.”

“Either must die at the hand of the other for neither can live while the other survives.” -Professor Trelawney

“Give her hell from us, Peeves.” -Fred Weasley

Credit image: Barnes and Noble

Credit image: Barnes and Noble

“The trouble is, the other side can do magic too, Prime Minister.”-Cornelius Fudge

“You did not do as I asked. You have never treated Harry as a son. He has known nothing but neglect and often cruelty at your hands. The best that can be said is that he has at least escaped the appalling damage you have inflicted upon the unfortunate boy sitting between you.”- Albus Dumbledore

“Won-Won!”-Lavender Brown

Avada Kedavra!“- Severus Snape

“Dumbledore’s man through and through,” said Harry. “That’s right.”- Harry Potter to Rufus Scrimgeour after Dumbledore’s funeral

From my bookshelf

From my bookshelf

“The ministry has fallen. Scrimgeour is dead. They are coming.” -Kingsley Shacklebot via patronus

“Not my daughter, you bitch!” -Molly Weasley

“The scar had not pained Harry for nineteen years. All was well.”

“The time has come for Slytherin House to decide upon its loyalties.”- Professor McGonagall

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real.”- Albus Dumbledore

Bonus-Here are some additional quotes/lines I just had to add:

“We did it, we bashed them wee Potter’s the one, and Voldy’s gone moldy, so now let’s have fun!-Peeves

“So that’s little Scorpius. Make sure you beat him in every test, Rosie. Thank god you’ve inherited your mother’s brains.” -Ron Weasley

‘I don’t think you’re a waste of space.’- Dudley Dursley

“We’re coming with you. That was decided months ago – years, really.” -Hermione Granger

“I speak now, Harry Potter, directly to you. You have permitted your friends to die for you rather than face me yourself. I shall wait for one hour in the Forbidden Forest. If, at the end of that hour, you have not come to me, have not given yourself up, then battle recommences. This time, I shall enter the fray myself, Harry Potter, and I shall find you, and I shall punish every last man, woman, and child who has tried to conceal you from me. One hour.” -Lord Voldemort

“I was a fool!”- Percy Weasley

“Fight! Fight! Fight for my Master, defender of house-elves! Fight the Dark Lord, in the name of brave Regulus! Fight!” -Kreacher

Special Shout Out

Happy Birthday to Neville Longbottom! The almost-boy-who-lived and almost-chose-one turned 35 years old yesterday. Whose life and fate was as intricately tied together with Harry’s as Harry’s was tied to Tom Riddle aka Lord Voldemort. Often overlooked and his sorting into Gryffindor house questionable. Neville had some great moments in the Harry Potter books. For example, standing up to Malfoy, getting into a fight with Crabbe and Goyle, and:

“I’ll join you when Hell freezes over,” said Neville. “Dumbledore’s Army!”

Right before he pulls the sword of Godric Gryffindor and decapitates Nagini. Take that Voldemort! No more Horcruxes for you!

To know more about the awesomeness of Neville Longbottom, read Tor.com’s article,“Neville Longbottom is the Most Important Person in Harry Potter- And Here’s Why.”

Are you a Harry Potter fan? What are you favorite quotes from the book? What’s your favorite Harry Potter moments/scenes? What did you wish would happen in the books? Which character would you love to learn more about? (I’d love a detailed backstory or separate story about Snape and his life at Hogwarts; besides the snippets /memories shown from the pensieve). Come celebrate and share all things Harry Potter, in honor of his birthday, in the comments below!

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Harry Potter!

    • I’ve been safeguarding my Harry Potter books from my sons (had a traumatic experience a few years ago). But in honor of today I’ve lent out book 1, “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone,” to my eldest.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m not sure I’ve ever considered that Harry Potter is only three years younger than I am. Trippy! I’ve read the books allowed with each of my kids. We’re on The Half-Blood Prince right now. And, funnily enough, I caught my daughter up late reading tonight, using her Hermione wand with the light up tip. Busted!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now that is certainly a lot of quotes right there! I never knew they shared the same birthday as well – looks like I am learning a lot of new things here😀 I can tell you are very much a Potterhead! I hope they both had good birthdays xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

