IWSG Day- Where Did the Time Go?

IWSG badge

Hi! It’s my first Insecure Writer’s Support Group day on Paving My Author’s Road. And if you don’t know the purpose of this group, then let me tell you. IWSG was first started by Alex Cavanaugh. For writers as a way to share their success and failures, doubts and fears, and offer words of encouragement.

We post the first Wednesday of every month. And this month’s awesome co-hosts for IWSG day are M. Pax, Tracy Jo,Patricia Lynne, Rachna Chhabria, Feather Stone, and Randi Lee! Don’t forget to check them out. Or click on the badge. And follow the link to other insecure writers navigating and paving their own author’s roads.

PS Our hashtag on Twitter is #IWSG

Now, my current concern this month is time, time, time. I mean, where did the time go? How is it already June when it was just New Year’s Eve not too long ago? Tell me I’m not alone in thinking that the year has gone by fast this year? And I mean fast, as in faster than a speeding bullet.

All I know is, for next year’s writing goals, I’ll take into account the elusive mistress of time. I will factor her in and give myself ample time to write. And I don’t mean just finding time to write. But plan accordingly by adding in buffer times. For example, for breaks, both for personal reasons and for work and family. Especially for events that you have no control over and goes against your plans. In order to keep on track.

Now moving on, it’s time to think about what to do for the rest of the year. Thanks to my submission tracker I’ve lined up one poetry chapbook contest to submit to. Two poetry book awards and a short story as well. And have my Nadia work in progress novel, revised, edited and ready for the next two Twitter pitch (#PitMad). And query agents/publishers by December. Which will probably come before I know it too.

How has your writing plans been so far? What do you have planned for the rest of the year? Let’s wish each other luck!

Credit image: GraphicStock

“Time is what we want most,but what we use worst.”-William Pen                                                                                                                                        Credit image: GraphicStock

36 thoughts on “IWSG Day- Where Did the Time Go?

  1. Yep. I see this will be a common theme this month! I am finally figuring out how to manage my time and I reeeally hope I can stick to this method long term. I haven’t planned exactly what I want to accomplish by the end of the year, but I’m taking it month-to-month for now. I do need to work on long-term goals too. Good luck with your submissions, Lidy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Time. Gosh I can relate to that. I have been doing so much blogging, marketing, and dealing with my new house and taking care of my nephews some days that I haven’t written much of anything. I can’t believe it’s already June! I need to get cracking!!!

    Good luck with your goals for the rest of the year!🙂


    • I know right? I still can’t believe it’s already June. Thanks and good luck writing with all the blogging, marketing, family and home mayhem, as well.


  3. Time, I think, is an evil twin to desire. Add ‘aging’ to the daily commitments of family, career, physical health, etc. In my senior years, I’m more aware of the limited time I have left. I want to ensure quality use of my remaining time on this planet. My bucket list is still staring me in the face and I have less resources to attack each item. Good luck to all of us. Blessings.


    • You’re right, it’s the old ‘so much to do and so little time.’ Sometimes I feel like the rabbit in Alice in Wonderland starting at my pocket watch and going “I’m late! I’m late!”


  4. Wow, you are busy and it sounds like things are going to get even busier for you. Yep, the first half of the year went by unbelievably fast, but you sound prepared for the rest of the year. My only plan for now is to get through my edits. Thank you so much for your kinds words on my blog.


    • I had to unbusy myself a bit and drop a project or two. I’m just going to concentrate on the main three (poetry books and ya novel). But I’ll make a more reasonable plan for next year and hopefully time will be on my side. Thanks for visiting and good luck with your edits.


  5. Right now I am doing #PitMad and getting ready for my family to move. Once we have settled in our new house, then I will begin the submission process, or look into self publishing.
    I was intrigued when you said ‘submission tracker’…is that something you set up yourself or did you find a program to help you? Best of luck harnessing the ‘mistress of time’!


    • Good luck with #PitMad, the move and all future writing endeavors Heather. I’ll do my best in making time my best friend. And you’re right, the submission tracker is something I set myself using an Excel spreadsheet. That way I can get a clearer picture to which journals/presses/zines,etc I’ve submitted to before. And then I weigh in and scale on whether I really want to be a part of their publication & submit again. Or move on. The open submission schedule and upcoming contests. I also use it to keep track of where I send my work to because most places does accept simultaneous submissions while others don’t.


  6. It seemed like only a while ago when I’d blogged on my goals for 2015, and it’s June already! My writing & publishing goals are mainly still on track though I want to quicken things up a bit (oh and my short story writing is falling behind, but my MG novel writing is still okay). Good luck with your goals, Lidy!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Time flew by very fast for me! It isn’t just you. I’ll be posting soon how my writing and plans have been. There just wasn’t enough time to do everything I wanted to. Perfect quote you chose, btw. Yes, let’s wish each other all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well, I was supposed to be done with my WIP by now, but time, the slippery little bugger, just keeps getting away from me. My goal was to write 3 books this year, but I’m not sure that’s going to happen. But we’ll see! Good luck. I hope you’re able to get everything done before the year’s end.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I know exactly what you mean, Lidy. This year seems to be flying by. I’ve done pretty well as far as my goals, but it gets tiring. I also have to make my personal medical related goals too. My other blog focuses more on that area of my life. It can be quite the struggle. Obviously my health comes first, but sometimes I get so caught up in my writing and the things I want to accomplish, the lines get blurred.:/

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog earlier this week. It meant the world to me. I try not to be too late with commenting and such, but this year has been a hectic one. Have a great night. Eva

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I know. You have so much you want to accomplish with your writing for the year. And then have the year pass you by like it has…I wish us all to at least achieve most of their writing goals. Personal too. Thanks for stopping by lilac and best of luck.


  10. Hi Lidy,
    Nice post. Yup, it’s hard to believe that everyone is allotted the same amount of time to get everything done. I;m usually wishing there were at least 6 more hours in the day. You sound like you have very clear goals set for submissions to contests and for your novel. Now, it is just breaking all those goals down into manageable tasks between now and Dec. And, also remember to have fun–which I think writers often loose sight of.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Michele. And you’re so right. It’s time to tighten that belt and get down to some creative business. But can’t forget to have some fun in between too. A little breather so that we can relax.


  11. Loving the idea of insecure writers day especially as there are a lot of insecure writers out there hiding their work! And we all do make mistakes sometimes, so it is good to share those with others too. Glad to know you have brought this day to my attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the day as well. I get to meet a whole bunch of writers who feel the same way I do. Or offer support and advice based on their own experiences. Really glad I found out about the group and joined up. Thankful to founder Alex Cavanaugh too.


Leave a Reply

