30 Days of Poetry Love with Olivia Savannah

Credit image: Poets.org

Happy National Poetry Month day 10! Today’s interview is by book blogger Olivia Savannah:

What is your current poetry diet?
I currently try to write at least a poem a week. I am also part of an online writing community and I read poetry every day. I do believe poetry is important to me – to write and read – so I include it as much as I possibly can.

Who is your favorite dead poet? Why?
I usually read a lot of poetry from a lot of different poets, and not one particular person. That’s why I am going to opt for my favourite poem which would have to be If- by Rudyard Kipling. I love the rhythm and rhyme to it and the message there. It was brilliant, and the more I read it, the more I fall in love with it. My favourite line would be, ‘If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,/ Or walk with kings – nor lose the common touch.’ That is because I feel strongly about conformity, and he pinpoints my thoughts about it perfectly.

Who is your favorite living poet? Why?
When it comes to modern poetry I usually read poems written by unpublished poets and not published ones. But one of those would be Margaret Atwood. I love her poem Siren Song. Mostly because sirens intrigue me, and I like the how the poem itself was also the poem as well, that gradually drew me in with the promise of a secret. The form was also done very well – I liked how free it was and where she inserted the breaks.

Should a reader have to work hard to understand the meaning of a poem?
This is actually a question which could form a whole discussion! I am going to try and keep this as brief as possible. I do think a reader shouldn’t have to work too hard to be able to deem one meaning from the poem. With the favourites I mentioned of If- and Siren Song it is easy enough to deem what is meant. But there can be more than one meaning or message to a poem, and those can be hidden! I think having deeper messages to poems which may first appear simple or only seem to have one, is great fun for me.🙂

What does poetry mean to you?
Poetry means a lot to me! I believe it is a way of shedding a new light on something we might not have considered this way before. It helps me discover new perspectives on all sorts of things – from situations, to people to even objects. It’s also a way for me to release my feelings, putting my own emotions into words that I can share with others. I love decoding complicated poetry, discovering a meaning that is personal to you and sharing it with others. I like experimenting with forms and stringing together beautiful words to make something new. Poetry in general makes me happy – like reading a good book does.

Bonus Olivia shares with us today a quote from a poem she wrote called “Disjointed Entanglements”:

Disjointed entanglements that proclaim
emotion through flurried speech, oh
what to gain through such a small confession…
now then, let the flowing stop.
Cold flames ignite within pure black souls
as letters strung together love but hate
their connection, never to be severed and free.
A happy sadness to which they are glued.

Copyright @ Young Writers Society (https://www.youngwriterssociety.com/copyright.php)

Olivia-Savannah is a 16 year old blogger who is an aspiring novelist and poet. Whenever she’s not reading or writing Olivia spends her time playing basketball, in the blogosphere or busy working on nail art. Olivia was born in London but is currently living abroad with her family she loves so much. You can follow Olivia at:
Blog: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/
Bloglovin: https://www.bloglovin.com/deanierodgers
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34117027-olivia-roach
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/ocatastrophe/boards/

Leave a Reply

