Credit image:

If you aren’t familiar with the hashtag #GiveABook then allow me to let you know what’s going on. Starting November 29th, Penguin Random House launched a social media campaign.  With every use of the hashtag on Facebook or Twitter before December 25, Penguin Random House will donate a book to the Save the Children organization. And up to 25,000 times.

Such a media campaign to promote and encourage literacy brought back a wonderful memory. It happened over 20 years ago. I must’ve been 6-8 years old and the daycare I was attending was throwing a Christmas celebration. There I was, all gussied up and sitting by myself as your typical wallflower. Watching the other kids run around with their gifts and eating sweets. When a woman, a teacher and owner of the center, came up to me and gave me a present. A book.

The book was called Fudge-A-Mania by Judy Blume. And it was the most amazing and funniest thing I’ve ever read. But more than that, it touched me that someone reached out to me by giving me the one thing I wanted the most. Before I even realized myself how much I’ve come to love it. Since that day, I’d read and reread Fudge-A-Mania over a hundred times. Until it became worn and tattered and not even a roll of tape could keep it together. Of course, I could’ve just replaced it with a hardcover. But it just wouldn’t have been the same.

Why? That book had become a symbol. A symbol of the first time someone stepped into my world of one. A symbol of the first person to give me a key to another world and cemented my path in delving into more worlds. And although Little Women and Moby Dick were the first two books I’ve ever read, Fudge-A-Mania was the first book I’d ever owned.

The power of a book is amazing. So, if you haven’t already, give a book as a present this Christmas. Then post it on Facebook and Twitter using the hashtag #GiveABook. Let’s give the gift the keeps on giving, and open up new worlds.

What’s the first book you’ve ever read? Have you ever received books as a present? In what ways has a book(s) influenced you?

Credit image:

Here’s an update status of my own ebook:

Way to go Can You Catch My Flow? Two 4 star ratings and a good review on Goodreads! And 5 stars on Smashwords with a raving review!

Posted by Can You Catch My Flow? on Friday, December 19, 2014


Leave a Reply

